Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Annual Sportspersons Award Ceremony


​On behalf of the principal and school community of Bracken Ridge State High School, we would like to thank you for attending our Sportspersons Award Ceremony. It was a magnificent night that showcased the sporting accomplishments of so many our students. 
Congratulations to all students who were award recipients. 2017 has also seen a record breaking number of students attend trials for district, regional and state representative teams. We have had a successful sporting year winning the percentage trophy for cross country and athletics as well our Girls Year 10 Volleyball Team being awarded district champions.  At the awards ceremony, we congratulated 35 students who   received Bronze Awards, eight (8) Silver recipients, seven (7) Gold awardees and two (2) Platinum recipients. A special congratulations to our Champion Athlete – April Matthysz-Hamblin and Timothy Gordon for Sportsperson of the Year. 
We were honoured to have Mr Lote Tuqiri as our special guest.  He provided an insight into his successful sporting career and how many of what he learnt during this time, is transferred to his business and everyday life. Thank you to all the staff who assisted in organising this event as without their support and devoted time, this ceremony would not have been a success. Thank all the sport coaches for your dedication,  support and the endless hours you devote to training our students. Lastly, I would like to acknowledge the HPE department, Mr Jon Leeming, Mr Kellie Insch, Mr Martin Cabrera, Mr Scott Langford and Ms Kylie Mare. Many hours have been devoted to organising this event and I thank you for your continued commitment to Bracken Ridge SHS and most importantly to our students.